Incorporated in 1873, Fort Worth adopted a council-manager form of government when it received its charter from the Texas Legislature in 1924. In council-manager systems, which is the most popular form of government in the United States today, a city council appoints a city manager to administer and coordinate municipal operations and programs. In Fort Worth, council also appoints the city secretary, city attorney, city auditor, municipal court judges, and citizens who serve on city boards and commissions. Included in the city council are Betsy Price (mayor), Carlos E. Flores (district 2), Brian Byrd (district 3), Cary Moon (district 4), Gyna Bivens (district 5), Jungus Jordan (district 6), Dennis Shingleton (district 7), Kelly Allen Gray (district 8), and Ann Zadeh (district 9). Council members are elected from the district in which they reside, with the exception of the mayor who is elected at large. For more government information, visit or

Register to Vote

For more information about voting, from registering to vote to finding your polling location, visit or dial the City Call Center at (817) 392-1234. You can request a mail-in ballot or register to vote online at

About The Author

Related Posts